About Us

Department History

Department of Neurological Surgery

For over 50 years, neurological surgery at the University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine, has been a renowned leader in its field, training and attracting esteemed faculty and treating patients from all over the world. The department’s reputation has been built on the dedication of its chairmen and faculty.

Our broad patient population has provided residents and fellows with exposure to an extraordinary range of neurosurgical diseases and injuries. Our clinical faculty has grown to represent all major areas of neurosurgical expertise and has always been highly committed to maintaining a world-class training program.

The Founding

The Department of Neurosurgery was formed in 1959 as a division of the Department of Surgery at the University of Miami. The Neurosurgical Training Program was shortly established thereafter as a subset of the division of surgery. In 1962 the division enacted a Chairman, David H. Reynolds, M.D., who continued to supervise patient care and neurosurgical education until 1971 when the division became an autonomous department.

Division to Department

Hubert L. Rosomoff, M.D., D.Med.Sc., F.A.A.P.M.
Chairman 1971−1994

Upon the creation of the Department of Neurosurgery in 1971, Hubert L. Rosomoff, M.D., became the Chairman and Residency Program Director, remaining in his position until 1994.

Under the leadership of Dr. Rosomoff, the department pioneered research in hypothermia, cryosurgery, spine and brain injuries/surgery, tissue transplantation, cranial reconstruction, percutaneous cordotomy pain surgery, and rehabilitation. Dr. Rosomoff was the first to investigate and utilize lasers to conduct brain surgery. He also created numerous surgical techniques and procedures, and assisted in developing radiological criteria, which resulted in present day interpretations of CAT-Scans and MRIs. He also founded the University of Miami, Comprehensive Pain Center; now known as The Rosomoff Comprehensive Pain Center, an internationally recognized Center of Excellence for the treatment of pain.

Dr. Rosomoff was nationally acclaimed and greatly increased the notoriety of the department through his involvement in a various neurosurgical organization. He was a founding member of the International Association for the Study of Pain, the President of the American Pain Society, President of the American Academy of Pain Medicine and the Eastern Pain Society. He served as Vice President of the Southern Neurosurgical Society, founder and President of the Southern Pain Society, among other prestigious organizations. He has served as Vice Chairman of the State of Florida Pain Management Commission, has consulted for a number of state and federal agencies, and was the editor to many scientific journals.

Larry K. Page M.D.
Co-Chairman 1971−1994

Larry K. Page M.D. served as the Co-Chairman with Dr. Rosomoff and also remained in his position until 1994.

Dr. Page played a very important role in establishing the clinical diversity of the department. He established the Division of Pediatric Neurosurgery in 1972. At the time of its inception, it was the only pediatric neurosurgery program in the state of Florida.

A New Era: Finding a Cure for Paralysis

Barth A. Green, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Chairman 1995−2015

Dr. Green joined the faculty in 1975, having been trained at Northwestern University Medical School in Chicago. He was named Departmental Chairman in 1995. His commitment, vision, and dedication to help spinal cord injury patients inspired him to co-found the internationally recognized The Miami Project to Cure Paralysis in 1985. The Miami Project to Cure Paralysis has become the world’s largest, most comprehensive research center dedicated to finding more effective treatments and, ultimately, a cure for paralysis that results from spinal cord injury.

Under the direction of Dr. Green, The Miami Project to Cure Paralysis and the Department of Neurosurgery are now housed in the Lois Pope Life Center, a state-of-the-art facility, that opened its doors October 26, 2000. Named after the generosity and beneficence of its patron, Lois Pope, the center brings together all elements of the multi-pronged assault on paralysis and other neurological disorders, including stroke, brain trauma and neurodegenerative diseases.

During his time with the Department of Neurosurgery, Dr. Green has extended the treatment of tumors and syringomyelia, creating one of the country’s largest clinical practices in spinal surgery. The department has been able to provide the most comprehensive care to its patients and has built a collaborative relationship with University of Miami physicians on various interdisciplinary levels.

Dr. Green has also made it a priority to create numerous organizations dedicated to the betterment of neurosurgical patients and people throughout the world. In addition to his responsibilities as Professor for the Department of Neurological Surgery, and President of The Miami Project to Cure Paralysis, he also co-founded The Global Institute for Community Health and Development, Project Medishare for Haiti,Inc., and Shake-a-Leg Miami. A true believer in care without borders, he has received numerous honors for his commitment to patients no matter their circumstances.

Roberto C. Heros, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Co-Chairman 1995−2015

Dr. Robert C. Heros joined the University of Miami in 1995, as Professor and Co-Chairman of the Department of Neurological Surgery, as well as the Residency Program Director. Dr. Heros has placed an emphasis on training and international health. Dr. Heros developed and founded the University’s International Health Center. He is also a member of more than 50 international and national associations.

He also has greatly contributed to the advancement of cerebrovascular surgery at the University of Miami, having developed a substantial interest and experience in skull base approaches and surgical treatment of complex skull base tumors.

He has served as President of the American Association of Neurological Surgery and Chairman of the Neurovascular Committee of the World Federation of Neurological Surgeons. He has also founded and served as past Chairman of the National “Brain Attack” Coalition as well as past President of the American Academy of Neurological Surgery. He also received the 2010 AANS Cushing Medal, the highest award given to a neurosurgeon by the AANS.

A New Era: The Present

In the Fall of 2015 Drs. Green and Heros stepped down from their administrative roles in the Department, although both remain clinically active and totally committed and very involved in resident education; Dr. Heros continues as Program Director.
Dr. Allan D. Levi became Chairman of the Department and Dr. Jacques J. Morcos became Co-Chairman.